impressions: Ao Haru Ride & Barakamon

I’ve finally gotten some perfect amount of episodes to give my impressions on. I had to push aside some titles however but only because I have yet to watch them. So for today, I have Blue Spring Ride and Barakamon on the list first!

  • Ao Haru Ride3/5★ also known as Blue Spring Ride, was originally a shoujo manga by Sakisaka Io (Strobe Edge); I know this series before hand, and learning that it was getting an anime made me extremely excited. Especially after I found out it’s Production I.G working on it – which also worked on Kimi ni Todoke and did a wonderful job at it. However, shoujo titles tend to get half-assedly created anime – which is sad and unfortunate – so getting a shoujo title to be turned into an anime, I’m always on the fence about them. It’s not often they get turned into anime after all and there’s a reason why.

Synopsis: Yoshioka Futaba used to be in love with a boy named Tanaka Kou in middle school. However, after a misunderstanding, their relationship as friends ends when he transfers schools over summer vacation. In high school, her world is turned around once more when she meets Kou again, this time under the name of Mabuchi Kou.

IMPRESSIONS: So the animation of course is pretty nice, however it gets pretty lazed around after the first episode. The art is exquisite, it’s not easy to adapt into anime, honestly. However that shouldn’t be an excuse – I don’t want to be harsh though because it’s never easy to work as an animator either; I just hope it’s fixed for the home video releases. The opening and ending sequences should be pointed out as they have one of the best animations in the whole anime. I personally love the opening sequence with the wind blowing through Futaba’s hair and clothes, it’s something you don’t see everyday in a sequence and I like that touch to it which fits the music playing as well.

The ending sequence was just pretty simple characters walking from the right side of the screen to the left in front of a black screen that has lots of squiggled drawings and as you walk along more and more you see names written on them as though denoting it might’ve been a notebook or some sort – which may connect to the story as well. And later in the sequence, just stills of the 5 characters in pastel colours – which the whole anime makes use of – similar to what I.G did with KimiTodo which I found absolutely beautiful.

The music is not the best however it’s not bad either. One of the background music leaves an impression too, but not so much the others. (Perhaps because I’ve heard it in the trailer before so it has left a lasting impression on me) The opening is also pretty nice to listen to, noting that CHiCO and HoneyWorks collaborated for it – the latter being one of my favourite Vocaloid song creators. It’s become memorable for me now, which is a good thing. The ending song, not so much though but it takes time.

The voice acting is a little…off for me. I still can’t seem to accept that Kou is being voiced by Kaji Yuuki – not that I don’t like him but he usually voices fired-up teenagers so that seems to be putting me off somehow. (*´∀`)クスクス Uchida Maaya is a little off-putting as well as I can’t seem to agree that Futaba’s voice seems a bit too high pitched for her character but that’s also just me. I have no problems with Kayano Ai as Yuuri and KENN as Kominato though. KimiTodo had a perfect cast maybe I’m asking for too much. (*бUб)

Currently, the pacing is pretty good. Not too slow and not too quick either. However I’m not entirely sure what will transpire with just adapting it into a 1 cour series. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.


 

  • Barakamon 4.5/5★ also known as “a high-spirited person” in the Gotou dialect; I had no idea what this series was about when I first came across the trailer. They have this dialect that I could not understand in it. Ψ( ̄∀ ̄)Ψケケケ But it seemed funny so I anticipated it.

wSynopsis: Calligrapher Handa Seishuu moves to the remote Gotou Islands off the western coast of Kyushu, interacting with various people of the island.

IMPRESSIONS: I wouldn’t say the animation is great… Okay, actually it is pretty great. Kinema Citrus worked on it. They’re fairly new to me as I’ve only seen at least 2 or so titles(?) before this one (at least from the top of my head, that’s all I could remember). The mixing of light colours into the ending sequence is a good note, not to mention a somewhat calligraphy-ish drawings(?) on canvas – either way, made the ending sequence different and memorable. The animation is pretty consistent too and I haven’t seen any faults so far.

The expressions of the characters’ faces and their reactions adds to the wonderfulness of this adaptation but that’s just part of it.

What really gives this anime more life is the direction and humour. Aside from the quirks of the characters, perhaps its humour adds to the beauty of the whole title itself. However, of course I’m not saying the characters are just for show because one of the biggest reasons you’ll probably love this series is because of the characters themselves. Especially Naru, she is one of the sole reasons why this anime is definitely worth adding to your watch list. She is the life of the show, and if you disagree then you’re a heartless person. She and the whole cast of characters makes the MC’s life (a living hell – just kidding) worthwhile and perhaps one of the reasons as to his changes that will occur in the whole series.

As for the music. It wins all the awards. Though I cannot remember the background music that much, they do make the scenes that good despite it being so simple. It doesn’t need to be extravagant, it just needs to fit the situations. The opening and ending song (most especially the latter) are one of the best intros/outros of this season and definitely a MUST to have in your collections of anime songs. Noting that the ending song is sung in English and is sung by NoisyCell and is titled “Innocence.”

If you haven’t picked this series out yet, I’m recommending it right now as it is a DEFINITE MUST WATCH.

Next impression I have on the list might be Aldnoah.Zero and Free! Eternal Summer, so stay tuned! (Maybe… lol)

2 thoughts on “impressions: Ao Haru Ride & Barakamon

Leave a Reply

